Changing Focus

This week, I wrote one page. In my head, I should be berating myself. Instead, I’m celebrating the spontaneous performance opportunities that came to me this week. Sure, I wish I wrote every day like I used to, but I have three shows this week alone– something I haven’t had in a long time.

As someone who writes and performs, lately I’ve felt the scale tilted more toward writing. Now, joining two friend’s improv shows and a web series scene offered by a college friend, I’m ready to focus on performing more. I’m not turning my back on writing, but I think I’m giving myself a break from my novel and its story for a second. I’ve recently come up with the idea for a play and plan to run with that. While I’m not working on my book’s necessary rewrites, I want to see what happens when I explore a new writing medium and work on being more proactive in booking shows. As fall gets closer, I’ll likely return to Harvest as I feel more at home in the season.

By putting a positive lens on all of the performance opportunities I’ve been fortunate enough to receive, I lessen the sense of guilt in my stomach from breaking my rigid writing routine. So, it’s time for me to change focus. I want to get back into writing, but since my mind is struggling to jump back into Harvest, I’m going to jump into a new project instead. Since it’s been a while since I’ve performed regularly, I’m devoting more time to contacting producers to pitch shows. In the end, I’m staying creative and working toward the career I want.

I can’t be mad at myself for not doing one passion of mine when I’m doing something in the other, especially when the two cross-over. If you find yourself in a similar situation, remind yourself that you’re still doing it, and you can always change focus again when the time and calling require it.

Leave a Reply

