15-Minute Writing Challenge – 12/9/2016

15-minute writing exercise
Suggestion: “Yellow”
This week, I will only write in dialogue.

 

“The sunflowers came in nicely.”

“Sure did, Grandma.”

“Hand me that spray bottle.”

“You think it’ll rain?”

“Looks like it. Why don’t you head inside? I’ll finish out here.”

“I can help.”

“Thank you, Jacob.”

“Put that flower pot next to the hose… No, not that hose. The one next to the bird bath.”

“This one?”

“No, the other bird bath.”

“Why do you have so many bird baths?”

“I like seeing clean birds.”

“When will Grandpa be back?”

“Probably noon. He said he was picking up lunch. Subway fine?”

“Yeah.”

“Hurry, grab the boombox!”

“I got it! I got it!”

“Quick. Shut the door.”

“Man, that came out of nowhere.”

“Look at it. Won’t need to water those plants for a while.”

“No, I don’t think so.”

“Ope. That must be your grandpa.”

“I’ll go help him.”

“Jacob, give me a hand, would ya?”

“How about that rain?”

“Goddamn storm ‘bout washed me off the road.”

“Here. I can take the sandwiches.”

“Yours is the one at the bottom. The lady behind the counter couldn’t tell a fork from a knife.”

“What do you mean?”

“She couldn’t find a knife, so she cut your sandwich with a fork. Huge mess.”

“I’ll still eat it.”

“Harold, did you pick up my prescription?”

“What prescription?”

“Harold Edmond.”

“What, Marjorie?”

“I needed that! It’s my blood thinner.”

“Well, you should’ve written it down for me.”

“I did! I stuck a note on the steering wheel.”

“That’s what that was…”

“If you think I’m heading out in that rain after my perm, you’re crazy.”

“It’s fine, Grandma. I’ll go get it after lunch.”

“Jacob, you’re so sweet. Let me give you cash.”

“It’s fine, Grandma.”

“Ah, ah, ah. Let me give you some cash. You’re not home often. Get yourself some ice cream.”

“Let her give you some money, Jacob.”

“Harold, get out of the garage. Your knee will keep both of us up tonight if you don’t.”

“Marjorie.”

“Yes, Harold?”

“I love you.”

“I love you too.”

“But please stop giving me orders.”

“Harold, kindly remember the reason why you went to town and I wouldn’t have to give you orders.”

“I forgot.”

“Go on inside.”

“Yes, Boss.”

“How bad has it gotten?”

“Oh, Jacob. It’s fast.”

“I wanted to come home this weekend. I’m not sure when I can make it home next.”

Leave a Reply

